The Collection of 2019 Nobel Prize Winners

Three scientists have shared chemistry nobel for developing Lithium-Ion batteries. The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry have been awarded to John D Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries, the Nobel Committee concluded.

Lithium-ion batteries have revolutionised our lives and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. Through their work, this year’s Chemistry Laureates have laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil-fuel-free society, the Nobel Committee said in a statement.

At the age of 96, Prof Goodenough is the oldest person ever to win the award.

Peter Handke, Olga Tokarczuk Win Literature Nobel for 2019, 2018

The Nobel Prize for literature for the year 2019 went to Austrian author Peter Handke, while Polish author Olga Tokarczuk will recieve the prize for 2018, the Nobel Committee announced on Thursday.

Two Nobel Prizes in literature one for 2019 and one for last year were announced on Thursday after the 2018 literature award was postponed following sex abuse allegations that had rocked the Swedish Academy.

Mr. Handke’s debut novel Die Hornissen was published in 1966. Together with the play Publikumsbeschimpfung (‘Offending the Audience’, 1969), he certainly set his mark on the literary scene.

The peculiar art of Peter Handke, awarded the 2019 NobelPrize in Literature, is the extraordinary attention to landscapes and the material presence of the world, which has made cinema and painting two of his greatest sources of inspiration.

Polish author Olga Tokarczuk has been chosen "for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life,” the committee said in a statement.

James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz Get Nobel Prize for Physics

The Nobel Prize for Physics has been awarded to James Peebles for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology, and Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for discovering an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics rewards new understanding of the universe’s structure and history, and the first discovery of a planet orbiting a solar-type star outside our solar system. The discoveries have forever changed our conceptions of the world, a statement from the Nobel Assembly at Sweden's Royal Academy of Sciences said.

James Peebles took on the cosmos, with its billions of galaxies and galaxy clusters. His theoretical framework, developed over two decades, is the foundation of our modern understanding of the universe’s history, from the Big Bang to the present day.

The discovery by 2019 Nobel Prize laureates Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz started a revolution in astronomy and over 4,000 exoplanets have since been found in the Milky Way. Strange new worlds are still being discovered, with an incredible wealth of sizes, forms and orbits, the statement said.