Manchester United Have Not Won Premier League Since 2012

Manchester United have not won the Premier League since Alex Ferguson's final campaign in 2012 to 2013 as the Manchester club languish in sixth position this term, 29 points adrift of leaders Liverpool heading into their remaining two matches.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer was permanently appointed manager in March, having impressed during his interim spell following Jose Mourinho's December sacking, but United have only won two of their past 10 games in all competitions.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer said Manchester United face a battle to finish in the Premier League's top six next season, let alone challenge for the title, though the Red Devils manager is confident he will be granted time to lead the club back to the summit.

"I have regular meetings with Ed [Woodward, the executive vice‑chairman], I've seen Joel [Glazer, the co-chairman] and the [other] owners: they are very realistic on where we are and what we want to get to and how long that will take," Solskjaer said.

"You don't suddenly catch 27 points in one season, you've got to take it gradually. It's not just this season but the last five or six – we know where we are more or less at and it's not good enough. Hopefully we can produce better performances and they [City and Liverpool] can produce worse and we'll get closer." But Solskjaer doesn't see his club pushing for a title next campaign.